Thursday.Two weeks ago.

When I arrived from home that day I was not expecting this.I took a look at the window where there was a notice.It read. “War has been declared.Report to Manukau at 9 o-clock.”

 

So once 9 o-clock came and we were all ordered to line up and march into Manukau. This is when I started to think.”This is not at all what I expected when Ms Kneller said a supersize”.

So we started to learn and it was all about ANZAC day to feel how the solders in the trenches felt but I won’t bore you with the details. It was really hard.I’ll put it that way.It was really hard to focus,hard to breath and really hot! So eventually Morning tea came and I was free to stand up.

In fact playtime was one of the only times I got to stand up. After morning tea everything started to calm down. Then lunch came and all of a sudden it was the end block. Yipe! So at the end of the block we sat on the mat for a bit.Got our stuff and sat on the court.

Then the bell rang and I was realived to go home.

 

That was my day in the Under the wires expirience.

 

It wasnt that good or bad.It was really hard.It was hard to adapt to those changes.It wasnt normal at all.Overall Id give it a 4 out of 10.

2 thoughts on “Waikowhai war 1

  1. Talofa Lewis, your post really grabbed my attention. The descriptive words supersized surprise and the Notice ‘War has been Declared report at 9am’ sounds dramatic but that is exactly how the posters were written in war times. I am glad morning tea and lunchtime were normal for you. Do you think soldiers got a break like that?
    Tanya Mundy
    Ako Hiko EPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *